News from LACDP – Endorsements

By Jon Munoz —

The LACDP meeting was held on Tuesday September 13th. The meeting lasted six hours and was focused on 2022 General Election Endorsements. The endorsements were voted on by Assembly District, Ballot Measures, and Candidate Interview Committees. On the labor front only 1 bill was put forth for endorsement and approved – AB 2214.  Special mention was made that Connie Sullivan would be a recipient of the Pat Eastman Award at the annual Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Awards.

Assembly District 66 endorsements:

El Segundo City Council – John Pickhaver

Hermosa Beach City Council – Dean Francois, Kieran Harrington, Rita Gerace

Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified School District Governing Board – Ami Gandhi, Sara Deen

Rancho Palos Verdes City Council – Paul Seo

Judicial Offices:

Superior Court Judge – Seat 67- Elizabeth Lashley-Haynes

Superior Court Judge – Seat 70 – Holly Hancock

Superior Court Judge – Seat 90 – Melissa Lyons

Superior Court Judge – Seat 151- Patrick Hare

West Basin Municipal Water District:

West Basin Municipal Water District Director (Division 1) – Harold Williams

West Basin Municipal Water District Director (Division 4) – Scott Houston

Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees:

Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees (Seat 2) – Steve Veres

Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees (Seat 4) – Sara Hernandez

Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees (Seat 6) – Gabriel Buelna

Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees (Seat 7) – Kelsey Iino


Prop 1 – Support

Prop 26 – Neutral

Prop 27 – Oppose

Prop 28 – Support

Prop 29 – Support

Prop 30 – Support

Prop 31 – Support

Los Angeles County Measures:

Measure A – Support

Measure C – no action

CADEM Statewide Endorsements:

US Senate (Full Term) – Alex Padilla

US Senate (Partial Term) – Alex Padilla

Governor – Gavin Newsom

Lieutenant Governor – Eleni Kounalakis

Secretary of State – Dr. Shirley N. Weber

Attorney General – Rob Bonta

Treasurer – Fiona Ma

Controller – Malia Cohen

Superintendent of Public Instruction – Tony Thurmond

Insurance Commissioner – Ricardo Lara

CD 33 – Ted Lieu

CD 43 – Maxine Waters

CD 44 – Nanette Barragan

SD 26 – Ben Allen

AD 66 – Al Muratsuchi

AD 65 – Mike Gipson

AD 70 – Diedre Thu-Ha Nguyen

Board of Equalization District 2 – Sally Lieber




1 Comment

  1. This Los Angeles County Democrats’ Redondo Beach Measure E endorsement has greatly harmed that city.
    It was not researched sufficiently, so the committee endorsed an unworthy out of town cannabis businessman bent on undermining the Redondo Beach duly elected government.
    I am requesting an inquiry.
    I am very concerned that the Los Angeles County Democratic Party has greatly harmed its own credibility through careless endorsements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.