When They Go Low, We Go Local–Be Sure to Vote on March 7!

Dear Resistance Force Fighters,

The Spring 2017 local elections provide the first opportunity to make your voice heard at the ballot box and fight back against Trump’s radical agenda.

Click here to see a list of the Democratic Party’s officially endorsed candidates and ballot measure positions for local races. Elections throughout LA County take place as early as this Tuesday, March 7th, so please check our list and mark your calendars.

We have loaded our endorsement page with links to campaign websites to help you find more information about our endorsements and get opportunities to volunteer with these vital local races.

You might ask yourself  “Are these local races really that important?”
Well, those who preside over local school boards decide whether our students’ curriculum is formulated by science, facts and reason, or are guided by “alternative facts” and ultra-conservative ideologies.  They also vote on whether to fully fund public schools or outsource our children’s education to charter and private schools.

City council members vote on contracts for city services and decide whether local governments ensure protections for working people and support good middle class jobs, or provide fodder for big corporate executives to receive giant tax breaks and bonuses.  They also hold influence over whether local police forces are subjugated to serve as local enforcement agencies of federal immigration orders.
Community college boards ensure that higher education and technical training remain an accessible and affordable option to ensure no one is left out of an ever-changing work force.

Local elections have major consequences, often felt more directly in our day-to-day lives than higher profile elections. Republicans across the country are taking over school boards and municipal seats and building a bench of experienced and connected candidates for higher office.  It is in our hands to fight back and elect good Democrats to these local seats to ensure a good quality of life for our residents and a prepared farm team for the future.

We must resist the destructive policies of Trump’s alt-right-wing administration, and a key step in that resistance is to ensure that the LA County Democratic Party’s endorsed candidates and ballot measures are victorious in local elections this Spring so Los Angeles can stay in the forefront of the fight.

Please remember to vote for the Democratic Party’s endorsed candidates and measures in your local elections, and help us keep Los Angeles a beacon for the rest of the country to look toward.
Like us on Facebook
  Follow us on Twitter
Democratic Party Official Endorsements
For Spring 2017 Local Elections
In Los Angeles County
All elections are March 7, 2017 unless otherwise specified.
* Incumbent
Los Angeles Mayor
Eric Garcetti*
Los Angeles City Attorney
Mike Feuer*
Los Angeles City Controller
Ron Galperin*
Los Angeles City Council
District 1 – Gil Cedillo*
District 3 – Bob Blumenfield*
District 5 – Paul Koretz*
District 7 – No Consensus
District 9 – Curren Price*
District 11- Mike Bonin*
District 13 – Mitch O’Farrell*
District 15 – Joe Buscaino*
Los Angeles Community College District
District 2 – Steve Veres
District 4 – Dallas Fowler
District 6 – Gabriel Buelna
Los Angeles Unified School District
Seat 2 – No Endorsement
Seat 4 – Steve Zimmer*
Seat 6 – Imelda Padilla
Los Angeles County
Measure H – SUPPORT
Los Angeles City
Measure M – SUPPORT
Measure N – OPPOSE
Measure S – OPPOSE
Measure P – SUPPORT
Congressional District 34 Special Election
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Jimmy Gomez
Arcadia Unified School District
Measure A – SUPPORT
Measure T – SUPPORT
Bell City Council
Ana Maria Quintana*
Alicia Romero*
Measure B – SUPPORT
Bellflower City Council
John Drayer
Juan Garza*
Beverly Hills City Council
Lester Friedman
Nancy Krasne*
Vera Markowitz
Claremont City Council
Compton Mayor
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 18, 2017)
No Endorsement
Compton City Clerk
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 18, 2017)
No Consensus
Compton City Treasurer
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 18, 2017)
No Endorsement
Compton City Attorney
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 18, 2017)
Marcus Musante
Compton City Council
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 18, 2017)
Seat 2 – Bill Ivey
Seat 3 – Tana McCoy*
Covina City Council
Jorge Marquez*
Cudahy City Council
Adam Alexander Ochoa
Chris Garcia*
Measure PS – OPPOSE
Gardena Mayor
Mark Henderson
Gardena City Council
Paulette Francis
Nolan Jamora
Glendale City Clerk
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Ardy Kassakhian*
Glendale City Council
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Vrej Agajanian
Zareh J. Sinanyan*
Glendale Community College Board of Trustees
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Seat 2 – Ann Hazel Ransford*
Seat 4 – Victor Ernesto Garcia
Glendale Unified School District
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Area B – No Endorsement
Area C – Armina Gharpetian*
Area D – Shant Sahakian
Inglewood City Council
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Seat 1 – George Dotson*
Inglewood Unified School District
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Seat 1 – Dionne Faulk
Seat 3 – Melody Ngaue-Tu’uholoaki*
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 4, 2017)
Measure DE – SUPPORT
La Mirada City Council
Diane Gramajo
Lakewood City Council
Steve Croft*
Justin Rodriguez
Gregory Slaughter
La Verne Mayor
Tim Hepburn
La Verne City Council
Matthew Lyons
Monrovia City Council
(Election Day: Tuesday, April 11, 2017)
Larry Spicer*
Monterey Park City Council
Peter Chan*
Hans Liang*
Monterey Park
Measure LL – SUPPORT
Norwalk City Council (Unexpired Term)
Margarita Rios
Norwalk City Council (Full Term)
Enrique Aranda
Palos Verdes Estates
Measure D – SUPPORT
Pasadena City Council
District 5 – Victor Gordo*
District 7 – No Endorsement
Pasadena Unified School Board
District 1 – Kimberly Kenne*
District 3 – Adrienne Ann Mullen*
District 5 – Elizabeth Pomeroy*
Redondo Beach Mayor
Bill Brand
Redondo Beach City Council
District 2 – Todd Loewenstein
District 4 – No Consensus
Redondo Beach
Measure C – SUPPORT
San Fernando City Council
Joel Fajardo*
Robert Gonzalez*
San Fernando
Measure SF – OPPOSE
San Gabriel City Clerk
Florencia Albert
San Gabriel City Council
Chin Ho Liao*
Denise Menchaca
Jason Pu*
Signal Hill City Council
Carol Churchill
Kier Jones
Ed Wilson*
Signal Hill
South El Monte Mayor
Joseph Gonzalez
South Gate City Clerk
Carmen Avalos*
South Gate City Treasurer
No Consensus
South Gate City Council
Al Rios
West Hollywood City Council
John Duran*
John Heilman*

Paid for by the Los Angeles County Democratic Party

3550 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1203, Los Angeles, CA 90010

www.lacdp.org     FPPC#744554 – FEC#C00300731

Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee

More information for LA City candidates and measures available at ethics.lacity.org.


Los Angeles County Democratic Party, 3550 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1203, Los Angeles, CA 90010
Sent by info@lacdp.org in collaboration with
Constant Contact

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.